Skip to content

Francis I by Reed and Barton

November 17, 2009

  

Francis I by Reed & Barton

Francis the 1st by Reed & Barton

Francis I by Reed & Barton

 

Francis I pattern was introduced in 1908, after 3 years of design work by Ernest Meyer. His goal was to emulate the design work of a chief court artist and sculptor for King Francis I of France, Benvenuto Cellini. The pattern is in the Renaissance-Baroque styling, displaying 15 fruit and flower designs, paying tribute to Francis 1st throne entrance in the year 1515.

 In figure one, you will see the old maker’s mark of Reed & Barton signified with an Eagle, a Lion and the letter “R” accompanied by the word sterling. The old mark was made prior to the 1950’s, after which the maker’s mark changed to “Reed & Barton” accompanied by the word sterling.

Maker's Marks by Reed & Barton

Maker's Marks by Reed & Barton

Francis I pattern by Reed & Barton has been one of the most recognized and collected patterns:  Known as the pattern of presidents and princes. In fact Eisenhower, Truman and Wilson were among the many leaders who collected this very pattern!

Burgundy, introduced in 1949,  is the sister pattern of Francis I that has less intricacy that can be paired to make a beautiful less busy set. Below is a picture that can be used for comparison.

 

Burgundy Handle by Reed & Barton

Checkout all of our other patterns by Reed & Barton at:

 Beverly Bremer Silver Shop

 Beverly Bremer Flatware Patterns

 

Do you have any patterns that you would like to know more about? 

Please comment and we will be happy to post more information on this website!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2009 2:56 pm

    I enjoy reading these articles! Do you have a history of Gorham silver & of my pattern, King Edward? I chose this over 60 years ago and like it just as much as I did then – or maybe better! Also, how can I access the “old pieces” you have in stock?

  2. Trudy Ferguson permalink
    December 13, 2009 7:52 pm

    I am missing the bowl for the Francis I epergyne — I have four pieces of candlelabra but I am missing the bowl that it should go into. pls let me hear from you. Thanks Trudy Ferguson

  3. Kalista permalink
    April 28, 2011 7:10 pm

    I have a few pieces by Reed & Barton, but they don’t have any figures in the back to determine a date, It merely says Sterling Reed & Barton H
    Does any have and Idea about the date? Thanks!

  4. July 7, 2013 4:40 pm

    When Reed & Barton has an “H” on the sterling flatware (with the above hallmarks), what does that mean?

    • July 11, 2013 10:31 am

      Prior to the mid 29th century, Reed & Barton offers place setting pieces in regular weight and heavy weight. The heavy weight pieces were marked with an ‘H’! Some of our customer’s prefer and seek the pieces marked ‘H’, but we do not differentiate on our inventory- only between new and estate! Use and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

